Skip to content

The Bedlam in Goliath – The Mars Volta

February 19, 2008

Now, usually I don’t rant and rave about albums. Which is why I’m not going to. The Bedlam in Goliath is the best album of 2008. I know critics are divided on this album, some say it is genius, others say it is just pointless dribble. However, I am right, as my opinions are always correct. This album is amazing. Whether you like the Mars Volta or not, you should go out and buy it. Now, I like the Volta, but I can usually only take them in small doses. I was able to listen to this album three times in one car trip, the only stopping being getting out to pump gas for 5 minutes. Some great songs include “Goliath”, “Soothsayer”, “Metatron”, and “Wax Simulacra” (the official single). I find that the new drummer that the Volta acquired, Thomas Pridgen (who recieved a full, four year scholarship to Berklee at the age of 15) is possibly the greatest drummer to play rock music since Neal Peart, and he is on par with Peart at this point. Cedric’s vocals reach new heights on this album, as does Omar’s guitar work. Truly a masterpiece.

9.5 out of 10

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

