Skip to content

Wolf Parade – At Mount Zoomer

January 19, 2009
Wolf Parade - At Mount Zoomer (2008)

Wolf Parade - At Mount Zoomer (2008)

As you could probably tell by now, I like indie music. I’m not one of those pretentious indie fucks who thinks that Thom Yorke is God and that nothing else compares, but I do like my indie. That being said, anyone who hasn’t been living under a rock (or without an internet connection) would know that pitchforkmedia.com is the home of indie. Any indie band that gets a good review from pitchfork generally goes on to indie-fame, indie-fortune, and usually a worse review on their follow-up album. Wolf Parade is a text book example of this.
Recieving a 9.2 on their first album, Apologies to the Queen Mary, Wolf Parade was destined for what happened to them from there on in. All pitchfork’s writers could talk about was the new Wolf Parade album. Then, when it arrived, it was a seemingly big disappointment. Don’t get me wrong, At Mount Zoomer is an amazing album, maybe in the top 10 of the year. But it would be almost impossible to follow up and album as great at Apologies.

Having said that, At Mount Zoomer is one of the greatest albums to have come out in 2008. I know this is a little late, seeing as it came out a while ago, but enough cannot be said about this album. It’s indie without being pretentious, it’s accessible without being poppy, it’s good without being bad…yes.

So, in my humble opinion, I think you should go buy this album as soon as you can (or sooner). Since I’m currently revising my rating scale on a highly mathematical basis (using multi-variable calculus), I can’t give this album a rating at this time. But let me tell you, I’d say it’s “Pretty Awesome”-“Amazing”…and if those aren’t scientific enough for you, then I’m sorry.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

