Skip to content

Something patriotic…and almost 2 days late

July 5, 2010

Alright, figured I should post something about the 4th of July (seeing how it is often to most important “4th” of any month)…

I wasn’t really too sure what to write about the 4th of July, seeing as I usually write about music and writing about anything else seems a little strange to me. But then I realized that I could do both by discussing something musical about the 4th of July. 1812 Overture? Nope. Ives’ “Variations on America”? Not quite. George Carlin’s rendition of “America the Beautiful”? Nuh-uh. Instead, i’m going to talk a little bit about country music.

Every 4th of July for the past million years, my parents, my brother and I have been going up to Poughkeepsie to some friends’ house for a 4th of July party. The day also just happens to coincide with this couple’s younger daughter’s birthday. So, this turns into a yearly BBQ/party for both Julia and America. There is always inevitably some radio at this shin-dig (is that supposed to be hyphenated?) playing the local country music station and I would always inevitable turn up my nose and comment  (in my head) about the music that we were listening to, whether it be “uneducated”, “delivering the wrong message”, “uncivilized” or just plain “crappy”. But this year, something was different.

My freshman year of college (2009-10) I wound up rooming with a friend of mine who had three musical vices: Bon Jovi (and anything associated with them), Disney music and Country. Now, this took a little bit of getting used to, seeing as I had a total of 5 Bon Jovi songs on my computer and was too pretentious for country music. This all changed over the course of the semester, however, and while I wouldn’t say that I’m the biggest Garth Brook’s fan, I not know that he is a Country musician and I can appreciate his music.

Country music is all about keeping it simple: simple topics (love, work, life), simple melodies, simple musicians. But simple does not mean plain or boring. Country musicians, notorious for twangy voices and out-of-tuned instruments truly do know how to write music that appeals to an audience. Now, maybe this isn’t the audience you associate with, but the audience does exist regardless. And you know what? These people are passionate about their music.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

